Art of Engineering

"Engineering is the art of organizing and directing men and
controlling the forces and materials of nature for the benefit
of the human race."
Henry G. Stott, 1907

Thickness Measurement

Principle of Thickness Measurement

materialdickeThe radiometric thickness measurement is based on the partial absorption of ionizing radiation in matter. By selecting the energy of the x-ray source the measurement can be adapted perfectly to the material to be measured and the required measurement range.

zeichnung_dickenmessung

On the other side of the material the intensity of the radiation that passes the strip is measured wit a suitable detector. The measured radiation intensity depends on the absorbing material (Al, Fe, Zn, etc.), on the energy of the radiation and on the thickness of the absorbing material:

 

ab_formel

 

 

Where:

  • I is the intensity measured with the material present,
  • I0 is the intensity without material in the device,
  • μ is the absorption coefficient and
  • d the thickness of the material.

 The absorption coefficient μ depends on the material to be measured and its composition and on the energy distribution of the x-radiation. A big advantage of an x-ray source is the possibility to adjust the radiation energy and thereby the absorption coefficient to the required measurement range and material properties.

For this reason the radiometric non-contact measurement method provides very precise thickness values at a very high measurement rate for automatic control and quality assurance. X-ray thickness gauges are therefore the first choice for online non-contact thickness measurement in production facilities e.g. rolling mills in the steel and aluminium industries.

Ingenieurskunst

"Ingenieurwesen ist die Kunst Menschen, deren Arbeitskraft
und die Gegebenheiten der Natur zum Wohle der Menschheit
zu nutzen."
Henry G. Stott, 1907

Materialdicke

Radiometrisches Messprinzip

materialdicke

Die Dickenmessung mit Röntgenstrahlung beruht auf dem Effekt, dass Strahlung beim Durchdringen von Materie teilweise absorbiert wird. Durch Wahl der Energie der Röntgenstrahlung kann die Messung an das Material und den erforderlichen Messbereich optimal angepasst werden.

zeichnung_dickenmessung

Dazu wird der Strahl einer Röntgenquelle senkrecht auf das Messgut, z.B. Flachband, gerichtet. Die Intensität der Reststrahlung hinter dem Band wird mit einem Detektor gemessen. Die Restintensität ist gegeben durch das Messgut (Al, Fe, Zn etc.), die gewählte Strahlungsenergie und die Banddicke.

 

ab_formel

 

 

Dabei sind:

  • I die mit Material gemessene Intensität
  • I0 die Intensität ohne Material
  • μ die Absorptionskonstante
  • d die Dicke des Materials


Die Absorptionskonstante μ hängt von der Messgutzusammensetzung und von der Energie der Strahlung ab. Der große Vorteil einer Röntgenstrahlungsquelle besteht darin, dass die Energie der Strahlung und damit die Absorptionskonstante optimal an den erforderlichen Dickenbereich angepasst werden kann.


Dadurch liefert das berührungslose Verfahren bei sehr hohem Messtakt äußerst präzise Messergebnisse für die Prozessregelung und Qualitätsdokumentation. Es ist damit prädestiniert für den Einsatz in schnell laufenden Produktionslinien, z. B. Walzwerken in der Aluminium- und Stahlindustrie.